The Expo in the dark

Blindekuh

Seeing and being seen shape our lives. The Blindekuh project sets a counterpoint. Blind people receive sighted people, guide them through a completely dark sensory room and serve them in the Invisible Bar, a meeting place with cultural events.

It is difficult for sighted people to empathise with blind people. The chance to get to know their world is offered by the role reversal in the exhibition Blindekuh. In the darkness, visitors experience how naturally blind people perform everyday tasks.

Culture of seeing in the dark

They play hosts and ensure that their sighted guests experience the darkness not as threatening but as exciting or even fun. Because what the project authors want to convey is the culture of seeing in the dark. This culture means openness, because visual prejudices disappear. But it also means closeness, because communication at a distance does not work in the dark. And finally, visitors learn about slowness, because seeing in the dark means exploring the surroundings with the senses of hearing, smell, taste and touch, for which the untrained need more time.

Cooperation instead of prejudice

The exhibition appeals to people who are curious about a sensual journey of discovery into a world of not seeing - but also to those who wish for a world of encounter and cooperation instead of exclusion and prejudice. Because whether blind or sighted: you can only see well with your heart.

Events in the dark

The exhibition Blindekuh also offers acoustic events on all Saturday evenings and eleven Sunday matinées between 18 May and 20 October 2002. A radio play, various musical performances, storytellers from Switzerland, a Sunday service: there is room for almost everything. For example, the Ticino singer-songwriter and musician Marco Zappa, the German-speaking Swiss cabaret artist Franz Hohler and the French-speaking Swiss storyteller Jean-Louis Millet are scheduled to perform.

Visitor capacity per day
1'470

Total visitors
196'140

Partner
Helsana Versicherungen AG, Dübendorf www.helsana.ch 

Sponsors
Jelmoli AG, Zurich www.jelmoli.ch 
Gebauer Foundation, Zurich www.gebauerstiftung.ch 

Supporters
Ernst Göhner Foundation, Zug www.ernst-goehner-stiftung.ch; Sophie and Karl Binding Foundation, Basel www.binding-stiftung.ch; Hans Eggenberger Foundation, Zurich www.hans-eggenberger-stiftung.ch; Paul Schiller Foundation, Zurich www.paul-schiller-stiftung.ch; Avina Foundation Switzerland, Hurden www.avinastiftung.ch; Foundation Swiss School for Guide Dogs for the Blind, Allschwil www.blindenhundeschule.ch; UBS Cultural Foundation, Zurich www.ubs.com; Schweizerische Arbeitsgemeinschaft kultureller Stiftungen (new: SwissFoundations), Zurich www.swissfoundations.ch 

Authors
Jürg Flück, Jürg Spielmann, Stefan Zappa

Project management
SMC Management Contractors AG (Neu: Renggli International AG) (Stephan Rickenbacher),Winterthur www.renggli-international.com 

Architecture
GXM Architekten GmbH, Zurich www.gxm.ch 

Gastronomy consulting
Beat Läubli

Coaching Expo.02
Danielle Nanchen (Head)
Sina Buxtorf

Operations Management
Martina Lanz (Managing Director)
Gabriella Staub (Programming Events in the Dark)

Photos: Press kit Blindekuh

Die Expo im Dunkeln

Blindekuh

Sehen und gesehen werden prägen unser Leben. Das Projekt Blindekuh setzt einen Kontrapunkt. Blinde empfangen Sehende, führen sie durch einen völlig dunklen Sinnesraum und bedienen sie in der Unsicht-Bar, einem Treffpunkt mit kulturellen Veranstaltungen.

Für Sehende ist es schwierig, sich in Blinde einzufühlen. Die Chance, deren Welt kennenzulernen, bietet der Rollentausch in der Ausstellung Blindekuh. In der Dunkelheit erfahren die Besucherinnen und Besucher, wie selbstverständlich blinde Menschen alltägliche Arbeiten verrichten.

Kultur des Sehens im Dunkeln

Diese spielen Gastgeber und sorgen dafür, dass ihre sehenden Gäste die Finsternis nicht als bedrohlich, sondern als spannend oder sogar lustig erleben. Denn was die Projektautoren vermitteln wollen, ist die Kultur des Sehens im Dunkeln. Diese Kultur bedeutet Offenheit, weil visuelle Vorurteile wegfallen. Sie bedeutet aber auch Nähe, weil Kommunikation auf Distanz in der Dunkelheit nicht funktioniert. Und schliesslich lernen die Besucherinnen und Besucher die Langsamkeit kennen, weil Sehen im Dunkeln heisst, die Umgebung mit Gehör-, Geruch-, Geschmack- und Tastsinn zu erkunden, wofür Ungeübte mehr Zeit brauchen.

Zusammenarbeit statt Vorurteile

Die Ausstellung spricht Menschen an, die neugierig sind auf eine sinnliche Entdeckungsreise in eine Welt des nicht Sehens – doch auch solche, die sich eine Welt der Begegnung und Zusammenarbeit statt der Ausgrenzung und Vorurteile wünschen. Denn ob blind oder sehend: Man sieht nur mit dem Herzen gut.

Events im Dunkeln

Die Ausstellung Blindekuh bietet zwischen dem 18. Mai und dem 20. Oktober 2002 an allen Samstagabenden und an elf Sonntags-Matinéen zudem akustische Events an. Ein Hörstück, verschiedene musikalische Auftritte, Geschichtenerzähler aus der Schweiz, ein Sonntags-Gottesdienst: Fast alles hat Platz. Vorgesehen sind beispielsweise Auftritte des Tessiner Liedermachers und Musikers Marco Zappa, des Deutschschweizer Kabarettisten Franz Hohler und des Westschweizer Erzählers Jean-Louis Millet.

Besucherkapazität pro Tag
1'470

Total Besucher
196'140

Partner
Helsana Versicherungen AG, Dübendorf www.helsana.ch 

Sponsoren
Jelmoli AG, Zürich www.jelmoli.ch 
Gebauer Stiftung, Zürich www.gebauerstiftung.ch 

Supporter
Ernst Göhner Stiftung, Zug www.ernst-goehner-stiftung.ch; Sophie und Karl Binding Stiftung, Basel www.binding-stiftung.ch; Hans Eggenberger Stiftung, Zürich www.hans-eggenberger-stiftung.ch; Paul Schiller Stiftung, Zürich www.paul-schiller-stiftung.ch; Avina Stiftung Schweiz, Hurden www.avinastiftung.ch; Stiftung Schweizerische Schule für Blindenführhunde, Allschwil www.blindenhundeschule.ch; UBS Kulturstiftung, Zürich www.ubs.com; Schweizerische Arbeitsgemeinschaft kultureller Stiftungen (Neu: SwissFoundations), Zürich www.swissfoundations.ch 

Autoren
Jürg Flück, Jürg Spielmann, Stefan Zappa

Projektleitung
SMC Management Contractors AG (Neu: Renggli International AG), Winterthur www.renggli-international.com 

Architektur
GXM Architekten GmbH, Zürich www.gxm.ch 

Gastroberatung
Beat Läubli

Coaching Expo.02
Danielle Nanchen (Leitung)
Sina Buxtorf

Betriebsleitung
Martina Lanz (Geschäftsleiterin)
Gabriella Staub (Programmation Kultur im Dunkeln)

Fotos: fehlen uns noch - schicke uns deine! expo.02(at)ex-expo.ch