Swept off one's feet

Le premier regard

There are looks that we forget and gestures that do not touch us. But there are also those that enchant us, that make an encounter unforgettable. The exhibition Le premier regard lures us on a sensual journey of discovery with the secret of approach and seduction through body language. And suddenly they flutter again, the butterflies in your stomach.

What actually happens in these sensual moments that we would like to immortalise? Through all our senses, our body sends out sometimes unconscious messages from the first eye contact. Did you know that the attraction of a particular person's body odours is partly genetically determined? Le premier regard tells us this language common to humans and animals

Butterflies in the stomach

The journey into the realm of the senses begins with two seemingly identical gazes projected onto screens at the entrance to the exhibition. Visitors choose one of the two parallel paths, which are separated by a kind of membrane. By means of sound, light, image and smell, they are led on a journey of discovery of the physical language of love. Sensual perception of the other, without physical touch. If that doesn't raise expectations, fantasies. Until you find yourself face to face at the end of the path, and imagination and desire meet reality.

Love by advertisement?

A love story sometimes begins with an advertisement. These witty, poetic, ironic little texts fascinate and seduce us. The exhibition Le premier regard is dedicated to body language, while in the pavilion where it takes place, words come into play: thousands of advertisements paper the outer shell of the building. Its outlines are reminiscent of the sensual forms of the human body. The advertisements come partly from an advertising agency and partly from anonymous authors who took part in a competition.

Safer sex

The Federal Office of Public Health and the Swiss AIDS Federation were seduced by this exhibition; their STOP AIDS campaign joined the project. Because: A first eye contact can lead to a sexual encounter, and it should not turn off the prevention reflexes.

Visitor capacity per day
6'600

Total visitors
890'000

Partner
Federal Office of Public Health
Swiss AIDS Federation

Idea
Expo.02
in collaboration with:
Béatrice Pellegrini
Luca Deon
Maurici Farré

Scientific author
Isabelle Werner, Epalinges

Scenography
Claire Peverelli, Geneva www.clairepeverelli.ch

Photography and video
Olivier Christinat, Lausanne www.olivierchristinat.com

Film (eyes)
Intermezzo Film, Geneva www.intermezzofilms.ch 

Sound design
Andrea Valvini, Geneva

Animated film
Séverine Leibundgut, Lausanne

Illustration
Mix et Remix (Philippe Becquelin), Lausanne

Graphics
Frank Hyde-Antwi, Zurich www.twiddlethumbs.net

Sound recordings (animals)
Jean-Paul Augsburger, Lausanne

Actors
Céline Bolomey, Geneva
Jean-Louis Johannides, Geneva

Architecture
PixelPark AG (new: Digitas Pixelpark AG) (Jan Löken, Ralph Bremenkamp, Charlotte Kellermann, Marcus Schröger) Berlin, Germany www.digitaspixelpark.com 

Project management
PixelPark AG (new: Digitas Pixelpark AG) (Wolfgang Schneider, Christian Vogel), Berlin; Germany www.digitaspixelpark.com 

General Contractors
Nüssli Special Events AG, Hüttwilen www.nussli.com
Aroma Productions AG, Zürich www.aroma.ch

Project management Expo.02
Sandro Rosselet
Markus Röthlisberger

Coaching Expo.02
Sergio Cavero (Head)
Anic Zanzi

Guides
Jehanne Carnal, Pauline Grandpierre, Regula Guyer, Aurore Jecker, Timothée Tosti, Ursula Veglia Schweingruber

Photos: Press kit Le premier regard

Schmetterlinge im Bauch

Le premier regard

Es gibt Blicke, die vergessen wir, und Gesten, die uns nicht berühren. Aber es gibt auch solche, die uns verzaubern, die eine Begegnung unvergesslich werden lassen. Die Ausstellung Le premier regard lockt mit dem Geheimnis von Annäherung und Verführung durch Körpersprache auf eine sinnliche Entdeckungsreise. Und plötzlich flattern sie wieder, die Schmetterlinge im Bauch.

Was geschieht eigentlich in diesen sinnlichen Momenten, die wir am liebsten verewigen möchten? Über all unsere Sinne sendet unser Körper vom ersten Blickkontakt an manchmal unbewusste Nachrichten aus. Wussten Sie, dass die Anziehungskraft der Körpergerüche eines bestimmten Menschen zum Teil genetisch bedingt ist? Le premier regard vermittelt uns diese dem Menschen und Tier gemeinsame Sprache

Schmetterlinge im Bauch

Die Reise in das Reich der Sinne beginnt mit zwei scheinbar identischen Blicken, die beim Eingang der Ausstellung auf Leinwände projiziert werden. Die Besucherinnen und Besucher wählen einen der zwei parallelen Wege, die durch eine Art Membran getrennt sind. Mittels Ton, Licht, Bild und Geruch werden sie auf die Entdeckungsreise der körperlichen Liebessprache geführt. Sinnliche Wahrnehmung des Anderen, ohne körperliche Berührung. Wenn das nicht die Erwartungen, die Phantasien weckt. Bis man sich am Ende des Weges gegenüber steht, und die Vorstellung und das Verlangen auf die Wirklichkeit treffen.

Liebe per Inserat?

Eine Liebesgeschichte beginnt manchmal mit einem Inserat. Diese witzigen, poetischen, ironischen Kleintexte faszinieren und verführen uns. Die Ausstellung Le premier regard ist der Körpersprache gewidmet, während im Pavillon, wo sie stattfindet, das Wort zum Zug kommt: Tausende von Annoncen tapezieren die äussere Hülle des Gebäudes. Seine Umrisse erinnern an die sinnlichen Formen des menschlichen Körpers. Die Annoncen stammen zum einen Teil von einer Werbeagentur, zum anderen von anonymen Verfassern, die an einem Wettbewerb teilgenommen haben.

Safer Sex

Das Bundesamt für Gesundheit und die Aids-Hilfe Schweiz liessen sich von dieser Ausstellung verführen; ihre STOP AIDS Kampagne schloss sich dem Projekt an. Denn: Ein erster Blickkontakt kann zu einer sexuellen Begegnung führen, und er sollte die Präventionsreflexe nicht ausschalten.

Besucherkapazität pro Tag
6'600

Total Besucher
890'000

Partner
Bundesamt für Gesundheit
Aids-Hilfe Schwei

Idee
Expo.02
in Zusammenarbeiit mit:
Béatrice Pellegrini
Luca Deon
Maurici Farré

Wissenschaftliche Autorin
Isabelle Werner, Epalinges

Szenographie
Claire Peverelli, Genf

Fotographie und Video
Olivier Christinat, Lausanne

Film (Augen) 
Intermezzo Film, Genf www.intermezzofilms.ch 

Sounddesign
Andrea Valvini, Genf

Trickfilm
Séverine Leibundgut, Lausanne

Illustration
Mix et Remix, Lausanne

Grafik
Frank Hyde-Antwi, Zürich

Tonaufnahmen (Tiere)
Jean-Paul Augsburger, Lausanne

Schauspieler
Céline Bolomey, Genf
Jean-Louis Johannides, Genf

Architektur
PixelPark AG (Neu: Digitas Pixelpark AG) (Jan Löken, Ralph Bremenkamp, Charlotte Kellermann, Marcus Schröger) Berlin, Deutschland www.digitaspixelpark.com 

Projektleitung
PixelPark AG (Neu: Digitas Pixelpark AG) (Wolfgang Schneider, Christian Vogel), Berlin; Deutschland www.digitaspixelpark.com 

Projektleitung Expo.02
Sandro Rosselet
Markus Röthlisberger

Coaching Expo.02
Sergio Cavero (Leitung)
Anic Zanzi

Fotos: Pressedossier Le premier regard