Made in Switzerland

Leben, Lust und Lohn

Unusual objects tell of Swiss industrial inventiveness.

Leben, Lust und Lohn is about work, or rather Switzerland’s creativity and inventiveness at the workplace and the new challenges it is facing in this area. Change and innovation are on their way. That is why the shiny, brass-coloured pavilion with its pyramid-shaped roof does not house a traditional trade-fair exhibition but instead offers a spectacular fashion show.

The highlight of the exhibition is the 12-minute fashion show. However, this time the models on the catwalk are not flesh-and-blood creatures but are made of metal, computer parts, pipes and wires. You’ll be astonished by a presentation that shows what innovation and change really mean in no uncertain terms. These remarkably outfitted figures and creations symbolize the new world of work in Switzerland. The spotlight is turned on Swiss creative flair in a light-hearted manner, as it is on some leading players in the world economy. The show is presented by a young female engineer, who gives the unspoken questions surrounding Leben, Lust und Lohn a voice and a face. After the presentation, visitors are invited backstage to explore the technical aspects of the scenography and find out how the mechanical workforce is made ready for its next appearance in the spotlight.

Visitor capacity per day
8'400

Total visitors
957'110

Partner
Swissmem (Swiss Mechanical, Electrical and Metal Industries), Zurich www.swissmem.ch 
Georg Fischer AG, Schaffhausen www.georgfischer.com 
Siemens Schweiz AG, Zurich www.siemens.com 
cemsuisse (Swiss Cement Industry Association), Berne www.cemsuisse.ch 

Sponsors
Agie Charmilles Group (new: Georg Fischer AG), Schaffhausen www.georgfischer.com 
Ascom Management AG, Baar www.ascom.com 
Bobst Group SA, Mex www.bobst.com 
Holcim, Zug www.holcim.ch 
Jura-Cement-Fabriken AG, Wildegg www.juramaterials.ch 
Mikron Holding AG, Biel-Bienne www.mikron.com 
SIG Combibloc Group AG, Neuhausen am Rheinfall www.sig.biz  
Sulzer Gruppe, Winterthur www.sulzer.com 
Vigier Cement AG, Luterbach www.vigier.ch 

Supporter
Adval Tech Holding AG, Niederwangen www.advaltech.com; Aebi & Co. AG, Burgdorf www.aebi-schmidt.com: Alstom Power (Schweiz) AG, Baden www,alstom.com; Alu Meziken AG, Reinach www.alu-menziken.com; Ammann Unternehmungen, Langenthal www.ammann.com; Apaco AG, Duggingen www.apaco.ch; Bangerter Microtechnik AG, Aarberg www.bangerter.com: Baumann Federn AG, Ermenswil www.baumann-group.com; Benninger AG, Uzwil www.benningergroup.com, Benninger Guss AG, Uzwil www.benningerguss.ch; Bibus Holding AG, Fehraltorf www.bibus-holding.ch; Biral AG, Münsingen www.biral.ch; Bombardier Transportation (Switzerland) AG, Zurich www.bombardier.com; Bosch Rexroth Schweiz AG, Buttikon www.boschrexroth.com; Bucher Guyer AG, Niederweningen www.bucherindustries.com; Bucher Hydraulics AG (new: Birrer Hydraulik AG) Buttisholz www.birrer-hydraulik.ch;  Bühler AG, Uzwil www.buehlergroup.com; Bystronic Maschinen AG, Thunstetten / Bystronic Laser AG, Niederönz, www.bystronic.ch; Catag AG (deleted), Basel; Comfone AG, Berne www.comfone.com; CP Pumpen AG, Zofingen www.cp-pumps.com; Crypto AG (deleted), Steinhausen; CT Umwelttechnik AG (new: CTU Clean Technology Universe AG) Winterthur, www.ctu.ch; Dätwyler Konzern, Altdorf www.datwyler.com; Diametal AG, Biel-Bienne www.diametal.com; DIXI Group, Le Locle www.dixi.ch; Emissa SA, Le Locle www.emissa.com; Fachgruppe Raumfahrttechnik (new; Fachgruppe: Swiss, Space Industries Group), Zurich www.swissmem.ch: Fehlmann AG, Seon www.fehlmann.com; Feller AG, Horgen www.feller.ch; Ferag AG, Hinwil www.ferag.com  Ferriere Cattaneo SA, Giubiasco www.ferrierecattaneo.ch; Fischer AG, Herzogenbuchsee www.fischerspindle.ch; Four électr. Delémont SA (new: Safed Suisse SA), Delémont www.safed.at; Fritz Studer AG, Steffisburg www.studer.com; Geberit International AG, Rapperswil-Jona www.geberit.ch; Gietz & Co. AG, Dietlikon www.gietz.com; Gebr. Gloor AG, Burgdorf www.gloor.ch; Graf & Cie AG, Rapperswil-Jona www.graf-companies.com; Grob Horgen AG (deleted), Lachen; Helbling Gruppe (new: Helbling Holding AG), Zurich www.helbling.ch; Hilti AG, Schaan, Liechtenstein www.hilti.group; Huber + Suhner AG, Herisau www.hubersuhner.com; J.+R. Gunzenhausen AG (new: Georg Fischer JRG AG), Sissach www.gdps.com. Kabelwerke Brugg AG (new: Brugg Kabel AG), Brugg www.bruggcables.com; Kaiser Heinz AG (Big Kaiser Präzisionswerkzeuge AG), Rümlang www.bigkaiser.eu; Kindlimann AG, Tobel-Tägerschen www.kindlimann.ch; Leclanché SA, Yverdon-les-Bains www.leclanche.com; Leica Geosystems AG, St.Gallen www.leica-geosystems.com; Lift AG, Regensdorf www.liftag.ch; LNS SA, Orvin www.lns-group.com; Metrohm Maschinen Stiftung, Herisau www.metrohm-stiftung.ch; Metso Minerals AG new: Metso Outotec), Buchrain www.metso.com; Mowag AG (new: General Dynamics European Land Systems – Mowag GmbH); Kreuzlingen www.gdels.com; MPL AG, Baden www.mpl.ch; Netstal Maschinen AG, Näfels www.netstal.com; Nexans Suisse SA, Cortaillod www.nexans.ch; Oerlikon Contraves GmbH; Oerlikon-Knorr Eisenbahntechnik AG (new; Knorr-Bremse Rail Systems Schweiz AG) Niederhasli www.knorr-bremse.ch; Oerlikon-Schweizsstechnik AG, Menzikon www.isoarc.ch; Osterwalder AG, Lyss www.osterwalder-ag.ch; Otto Suhner AG, Lupfig www.,suhner.com; Pibomulti SA, Le Locle www.pibomulti.com; Plumettaz SA, Bex www.plumettaz.com; Polytype AG, Fribourg www.wifag-polytype.com; Posalux SA, Biel-Bienne www.posalux.com; Precicast SA (new: GF Predicast SA), Novazzano www.gfcs.com; Rieter Holding AG, Winterthur www.rieter.com; RUAG Holding, Berne www.ruag.ch; Saurer Group, Arbon www.saurer.com; Sauter, Bachmann AG, Netstal www.sauterbachmann.ch; Schindler Aufzüge, Ebikon www.schindler.com; Schneeberger Holding AG, Roggwil www.schneeberger.com; Schurter AG, Luzern www.schurter.com; Serto AG, Frauenfeld www.serto.com; Stahl Gerlafingen AG, Gerlafingen www.stahl-gerlafingen.com; Starrag AG, Rorschacherberg www.starrag.com; Stäubli International AG, Pfäffikon www.staubli.com; Steeltec AG, Emmenbrücke www.steeltec-group.com; Swiss Steel AG, Emmen www.swisssteel-group.com; Swissmetal Industries AG, Reconvilier www.swissmetal.com; Swissoptic AG, Heerbrugg www.swissoptic.ag; Sylvac SA, Yverdon-les-Bains www.sylvac.ch; Thales Communications AG, Zurich www.thalesgroup.com; Trasfor SA, Molinazzo di Monteggio www.trasfor.com; Unaxis Management AG (new: OC Oerlikon Management AG), Pfäffikon www.oerlikon.com; Usines Métallurgiques de Vallorbe, Vallorbe www.vallorbe.com; Von Moos Stahl AG (deleted), Emmenbrücke; Von Roll Management AG, Breitenbach www.vonroll.com; Voumard Machines SA (deleted), Cortaillod; V-Zug AG, Zug www.vzug.com; Wandfluh AG, Frutigen www.wandfluh.com; WIFAG (new: WIFAG Services AG) Fribourg www.wifag-services.com; Willemin-Macodel SA, Délemont www.willemin-macodel.com 

Scenography
Steiner Sarnen Schweiz AG, Sarnen www.steinersarnen.ch 

Project management             
Siemens Schweiz AG (Rolf Barmettler), Zurich www.siemens.com 

Producer
Biege 21 (Schweiz) AG (Manfred Müller), Kloten

Coaching Expo.02
Pidu Russek (Head)
Jacqueline Rondelli-Leist

Presenter/Actress
Isabelle Stoffel

Photos: Press kit Leben, Lust und Lohn