Europanto and the Art of Communication

Media Cut

Communication – life is full of communication, whether it be verbal or non-verbal. Aren't there always a number of lingering questions concerning communication? Has my listener understood me? Has a reader known how to interpret a message properly? What language should we use to communicate with each other within Switzerland? Within Europe?

The artist/architect team of Diller and Scofidio has incorporated these questions and artistically rendered them in their work. Elizabeth Diller and Ricardo Scofidio found the seeming contradiction between technology and nature so fascinating that they imbedded their project - Media Cut - into a grassy, flowered knoll. To the right and left of the valley inside this artificial hill there are oversized screens showing the lips of a man and a woman. They are moving, having a conversation. The dialog causes confusion since their communication is incomplete, and this incompleteness makes it unsatisfying.
Europanto - an artificial language

Ricardo Scofidio and Elizabeth Diller are presenting a world premiere in their work: Europanto, an artificial language pieced together from German, French, Italian, Spanish, English and Latin, is being spoken for the first time. In selecting Europanto, this pair of artists wants to emphasize the cultural and linguistic diversity found in Switzerland.

Spectators feel moved by the lips - maybe even consumed. They become both observers and participants. Their own interpretations finish off the piece, through their thoughts as spectators they become witnesses. Media Cut points out the difficulties of communication in a playful, even surreal manner.

Visitor capacity per day
not available - free flow

Total visitors
not available - free flow

Partner
Sunrise Communications AG, Zurich www.sunrise.ch 

Concept, Content
Diller & Scofidio, New York, United States www.dsrny.com

Texts
Douglas Cooper

Translation into Europanto (a newly created language)
Diego Marani

Actors
Dana Watkins
Abi Maryan

Project management
Matthew Johnson
Dirk Hebel

Technical Advisor
Ben Rubin

Coaching Expo.02
Sergio Cavero

Photos: are still missing - send us yours! expo.02(at)ex-expo.ch

L’Europanto et l’art de la communication

Media Cut

Communication – vivre c’est communiquer verbalement ou d’une autre manière. Aborder le thème de la communication soulève plusieurs questions: mon interlocuteur m'a-t-il compris? Le lecteur a-t-il correctement saisi la teneur du message? Dans quelle langue devons-nous communiquer en Suisse et en Europe?

Ces questions, le couple d'artistes et d'architectes américains Diller et Scofidio se les est posées et les a intégrées dans une œuvre d’art. L’apparente contradiction qui divise technologie et nature a à tel point fasciné Elizabeth Diller et Ricardo Scofidio, qu’ils ont intégré leur projet, baptisé Media Cut, dans un cadre de collines herbeuses et fleuries traversées par une vallée. Les flancs des collines artificielles qui bordent la vallée sont incrustés d’écrans TV sur lesquels on peut voir les lèvres d'une femme et d'un homme. Ces bouches parlent. Elles poursuivent un dialogue qui induit en erreur, car la communication est incomplète et donc insatisfaisante.

Première mondiale linguistique

Au travers de leur œuvre d’art, Ricardo Scofidio et Elizabeth Diller présentent une nouveauté mondiale. En effet, pour la première fois il nous est donné d’entendre de l’Europanto, langue artificielle composée d’allemand, de français, d’italien, d’espagnol, d’anglais et de latin. Par le choix de cette langue, les artistes souhaitent souligner la diversité linguistique et culturelle de la Suisse.

Le visiteur se sent touché ou même avalé par les lèvres de cet homme et de cette femme. Il est à la fois voyeur et partie prenante et il lui incombe, de par sa propre interprétation, de conclure leur dialogue. Cette démarche fait de lui un témoin. Media Cut veut démontrer de façon ludique, voire surréaliste, combien la communication est un art difficile.

Capacité des visiteurs par jour
non disponible - flux libre

Total des visiteurs
non disponible - flux libre

Partenaire
Sunrise Communications AG, Zurich www.sunrise.ch 

Concept, contenu
Diller & Scofidio, New York, États-Unis www.dsrny.com

Textes
Douglas Cooper

Traduction en europanto (une langue nouvellement créée)
Diego Marani

Acteurs
Dana Watkins
Abi Maryan

Gestion de projet
Matthew Johnson
Dirk Hebel

Conseiller technique
Ben Rubin

Coaching Expo.02
Sergio Cavero

Photos: toujours manquantes - envoyez-nous les vôtres! expo.02(at)ex-expo.ch