In pursuit of happiness

Happy End

In pursuit of happiness

On a journey through seven rooms, happiness becomes visible in this pavilion. But what do you need to be happy, and what does life actually depend on? If you are open to these questions, you may find answers.

To be happy! Who does not want that. Happiness is a goal in life. Happiness motivates people to act. One wants to make one's own happiness - and not simply have it. However, the exhibition Happy End does not want to define happiness, but to offer options that life has in store. It wants to sharpen the visitor's senses for his or her own happiness and also help him or her in the search for it.

Happiness, acoustically reproduced

Seven rooms invite visitors to leave the beaten track for a short while and embark on a course of surprises. The first is a darkened listening room. It opens the visitor's senses with the help of everyday sounds that acoustically reproduce moments of happiness - a voice in love, a morning atmosphere, people on the beach... In the second - bright - room, objects that Schweizer provided for this installation recall past moments of happiness during childhood: a school bag with fur, a music box, a pine cone. Some are like floating balloons to be pulled down on strings at eye level, some are lost in the heaven of childhood, far away and unreachable.

Shards bring...

...luck! In the third room, visitors are given a plate. Guided by a whispering voice, they move through a tunnel of plexiglas and up a staircase to a drop zone where they can smash the porcelain. A way to get rid of pent-up frustrations and aggression so that happiness can take its place again. The fourth room is dedicated to success. Those who dare step into the limelight and sit on the saddle of the golden calf. No one stays on top. But that is not what matters. The important thing is to dare to do something and not to be afraid of failure.

Out into happiness

It's dark in the fifth room. Every ten seconds a flash of lightning illuminates the scene to the beat of a time announcement. As the light fades, so do the shadows left on the walls by the visitors. 20 Swiss emergency call pillars can be found in the sixth room. They promise help on the way to happiness and, at the push of a button, transform into singing comforters. The songs are sung by Swiss people of all ages. They are recordings made especially for this exhibition on the occasion of street interviews.

Finally, the seventh room leads to the happy end. A wide slide transports the track seekers of happiness back into the world - onto the Expo grounds. On the seat of their trousers, to be sure, but also richer in some perspectives.

Visitor capacity per day
7'875

Total visitors
1'116'480

Partner               
Zurich Financial Services (new: Zurich Insurance Group), Zurich www.zurich.ch 

Project Management Zurich Financial Services
Christian Merk
Daniela Bucher

Concept, scenography
Triad Berlin Projektgesellschaft GmbH (new: NeoNext Berlin GmbH) (Lutz Engelke, Nikolaus Hafermaas), Berlin, Germany www.neonext.de 

Architecture, design author
Triad Berlin Projektgesellschaft GmbH (new: NeoNext Berlin GmbH) (Lutz Engelke, Nikolaus Hafermaas), Berlin, Germany www.neonext.de ;
Karl Karau Architekten, Berlin (Karl Karau, Germany www.kk-architekten.de
Klaus Hollenbeck, Cologne, Germany  www.maier-hollenbeck.de 
Ingo Plato, Cologne, Germany www.resd.de 

Music composition, sound design
Alexander Ameskamp www.alexander-ameskamp.de 

Media contact Zurich Financial Services
Daniel Fleuti, Zurich Financial Services, Zurich
Evelyn Schmid, c-matrix group ag, Baar www.cmatrix.ch 

Coaching Expo.02
Pidu Russek (Head)
Karin Hilzinger

Operations Management
André Alesch-Steffen (Operations Manager)
Isabelle Nüssli (Event Manager)
Isabelle Sailer Frei (Communication)

VIP Support
Isabel Linder


Photos: Press kit Happy End; © Christoph Steudler

Auf den Spuren des Glücks

Happy End

Auf den Spuren des Glücks

Auf einer Reise durch sieben Räume wird in diesem Pavillon das Glück sichtbar. Was aber braucht man zum Glück, und worauf kommt es im Leben eigentlich an? Wer offen ist für diese Fragen wird vielleicht auch Antworten finden.

Glücklich sein! Wer will das nicht. Glück ist ein Lebensziel. Glück motiviert den Menschen zum Handeln. Sein Glück will man sich machen – und nicht einfach nur haben. Die Ausstellung Happy End will Glück allerdings nicht definieren, sondern Optionen bieten, die das Leben parat hält. Sie will dem Besucher die Sinne schärfen für sein eigenes Glück und ihm bei der Suche danach auch behilflich sein.

Glück, akustisch wiedergegeben

Sieben Räume laden ein, ausgetretene Pfade für eine kurze Zeit zu verlassen und sich auf einen Parcours der Überraschungen einzulassen. Der erste ist ein abgedunkelter Hörraum. Er öffnet dem Besucher die Sinne mit Hilfe von Alltagsgeräuschen, die Momente des Glücks akustisch wiedergeben – eine verliebte Stimme etwa, eine Morgenstimmung, Menschen am Strand... Im zweiten – hellen – Raum erinnern Gegenstände, die Schweizer für diese Installation zur Verfügung gestellt haben, an vergangene Momente des Glücks während der Kindheit: ein Schulsack mit Fell, eine Spieluhr, ein Pinienzapfen. Manche sind wie schwebende Luftballons an Fäden auf Augenhöhe herunterzuziehen, manche verlieren sich im Himmel der Kindheit, weit entfernt und unerreichbar.

Scherben bringen...

...Glück! Im dritten Raum erhalten die Besucher einen Teller. Von einer flüsternden Stimme geleitet bewegen sie sich durch einen Tunnel aus Plexiglas und über eine Treppe zu einer Abwurfstelle, wo sie das Porzellan zerschmettern können. Eine Möglichkeit, angestaute Frustrationen und Aggressionen loszuwerden, damit das Glück wieder seinen Platz einnehmen kann. Der vierte Raum ist dem Erfolg gewidmet. Wer es wagt, tritt ins Rampenlicht und setzt sich auf den Sattel des Goldenen Kalbs. Keiner bleibt oben. Doch darauf kommt es auch nicht an. Wichtig ist es, etwas zu wagen und sich vor dem Scheitern nicht zu fürchten.

Hinaus ins Glück

Dunkel ist’s im fünften Raum. Im Takt einer Zeitansage erhellt alle zehn Sekunden ein Blitz die Szene. Im Verglimmen des Lichts verglühen auch die Schatten, welche die Besucher an den Wänden hinterlassen. 20 Schweizer Notrufsäulen finden sich im sechsten Raum. Sie versprechen Hilfe auf dem Weg zum Glück und verwandeln sich per Knopfdruck in singende Trostspender. Gesungen werden die Lieder von Schweizern jedes Alters. Es sind Aufnahmen, die eigens für diese Ausstellung anlässlich von Strasseninterviews gemacht wurden.

Der siebte Raum schliesslich führt zum Happy End. Eine breite Rutschbahn befördert die Spurensucher des Glücks zurück in die Welt – aufs Expo-Gelände. Auf dem Hosenboden zwar, aber auch um einige Perspektiven reicher.

Besucherkapazität pro Tag
7'875

Total Besucher
1'116'480

Partner               
Zurich Financial Services (Neu: Zurich Insurance Group), Zürich www.zurich.ch 

Projektleitung Zurich Financial Services
Christian Merk
Daniela Bucher

Konzept, Szenografie
Triad Berlin Projektgesellschaft GmbH (Neu: NeoNext Berlin GmbH), Berlin, Deutschland www.neonext.de 

Architektur, Entwurfsverfasser
Triad Berlin Projektgesellschaft GmbH (Neu: NeoNext Berlin GmbH), Berlin, Deutschland www.neonext.de ;
Karl Karau Architekten, Berlin, Deutschland www.kk-architekten.de
Klaus Hollenbeck, Köln, Deutschland  www.maier-hollenbeck.de 
Ingo Plato, Köln, Deutschland www.resd.de 

Musikkomposition, Sound Design
Alexander Ameskamp www.alexander-ameskamp.de 

Coaching Expo.02
Pidu Russek (Leitung)
Karin Hilzinger

Fotos: Pressedossier Happy End; © Christoph Steudler