Opening Spectacle Expo.02

Eleven stories, eleven acts (just like in the circus!) introduce the audience to Expo.02. They experience our language conflicts, which are as old as the world; but the invention of interpreting spares us from divine punishment.

The themes of the four arteplages are presented in the form of myths: the creation of the first humans, the theft of fire, the punishment of Promethean defiance, the exchange of mortality for immortality.

The audience discovers the atmosphere and the spirit of the places that welcome them. It is here and there at the same time, as the spectacle takes place simultaneously in six locations: the Arteplage Neuchâtel, the Arteplage Biel-Bienne, the Arteplage Murten-Morat, the Arteplage Yverdon-les-Bains, and the Arteplage Mobile du Jura and on television (direct transmission by SSR-SRG Idée Suisse). Thanks to the Large Window - a giant screen - it can experience what is going on in other places and feel connected to the audience in other cities.

It is an extraordinary spectacle on the lake with professional actors, dancers, singers and musicians as well as over 1'000 amateur performers from the Three-Lakes Region.


Arteplage Biel-Bienne: 5'000
Arteplage Murten-Morat: 3'500
Arteplage Neuchâtel: 4'000
Arteplage Yverdon-les-Bains: 5'000

The various locations of the Opening Spectacle

Artistic team
François Rochaix, director
Jean-Claude Maret, set designer
Francine Lecoultre, costume designer
Gisèle Sallin, director Arteplage Biel-Bienne
Patrick Martignoni, director Arteplage Murten-Morat
Leland Patton, director Arteplage Neuchâtel
Roger Merquin, director Arteplage Yverdon-les-Bains
Philippe Cohen, author of «Guignols de l’Expo»

Goran Bregovic, composer of «Hymne à la Nuit»
Jean-François Bovard, composer of «Naissance de l’inteprète» and «Les maîtres de l’Univers» (Arteplage Yverdon-les-Bains)
Erika Stucky, composer of «Chant des Sirenes»
Robert Morgenthaler, composer of «Mortalité contre immortalité» (Arteplage Murten-Morat) and the interlude «Les Trois Lacs»
Guy Bovet, composer of «L’inventeur de l’humanité» (Arteplage Neuchâtel) and «Les Guignols de l’Expo»
Sina, composer of «Le bienfaiteur puni» (Arteplage Biel-Bienne)
Markus Kühne, composer of «Le bienfaiteur puni» (Arteplage Biel-Bienne)
Pascal Auberson, composer of «Chanson polyglotte» and «Les mâitres de l’Univers» (Arteplage Mobile du Jura»
Youssou N’Dour, composer of «Chanson du Canton du Jura»
Valentin Reymond, musical director

Performers Arteplage Biel-Bienne
Daniel Ludwig
Nathalie Lannuzel
Gilles Tschudi
Paul Am Acher

Performers Arteplage Murten-Morat
Erika Stucky
Markus Mathis

Performers Arteplage Neuchâtel
Laurent Sandoz,
Ueli Locher
Anne Martinet
Dominique Gubser

Performers Arteplage Yverdon-les-Bains
Frank Rutishauser
Simone Kaiser
Bruno Balmelli
Caren van Oijen 

Performers Arteplage Mobile du Jura
Pascal Auberson

Project management
Emmanuel Gétaz (Délégué Special Events)
Véronique Maréchal (Assistante délégué Special Events)
Isabelle Collet (Coordinatrice artistique) 

Production management
Marc Lambelet (Production manager)
Ruedi Schweizer (Production manager) 
Adrien Coendoz (Coordinateur production)

Laurent Sandoz (Stage manager Arteplage Biel-Bienne)
Frédéric Paladino (Directeur technique Arteplage Biel-Bienne)
Bruno Girard (Chef plateau Arteplage Biel-Bienne)

Olivier Matthey (Stage manager Arteplage Murten-Morat)
Régis le Norcy (Directeur technique Arteplage Murten-Morat)
René Périsset (Chef plateau Arteplage Murten-Morat)

François Mottier (Stage manager Arteplage Neuchâtel)
Didier Rossat (Directeur technique Arteplage Neuchâtel) 
Michel Jarrin (Chef plateau Arteplage Neuchâtel)

Marcel Challet (Stage manager Arteplage Yverdon-les-Bains)
Laurent Cauvain (Directeur technique Arteplage Yverdon-les-Bains)
Christian Souyri (Chef plateau Arteplage Yverdon-les-Bains)

Philippe Laedermann (Stage manager Arteplage Mobile du Jura)

Laure Diserens (Assistante de production)
Nathalie Duchanois (Assistante de production)
Pascal Magnin (Assistant de production)
Stéphane Riethauser (Assistant de production)

Alexandre Forissier (Ingénieur scénique)
Jean Kittel (Architecte) 

Alain Schneebeli (Coordination technique)
Patrick Vogelsang (Coordination technique)
Roland Morvan (Technicien lumière)