On behalf of the Swiss Confederation, Expo.02 was realised with the support of the Federal Department of Economic Affairs.

Organised as an association, Expo.02 constituted the "National Exhibition Association" in which the Confederation, the five Expo.02 cantons (Berne, Fribourg, Jura, Neuchâtel and Vaud) and the four host municipalities (Biel, Murten, Neuchâtel and Yverdon-les-Bains) were represented.

The management of Expo.02 consisted of the Assemblée Générale (General Assembly), the Comité Directeur (Steering Committee) and the Direction Générale (General Management).

The strategic functions were grouped together at the Expo.02 headquarters in Neuchâtel.